thehungryblondeabroad

I'm blonde, I travel and I eat… I also write about it.

Travel Tips- Pickpockets

I have been the victim of pickpockets THREE times.  Every time, it completely sucks.  It is a buzzkill and can really ruin a vacation.  But thinking ahead can be a lifesaver!  Both times my entire purse was nicked, it was at a bar when the bag was either on the floor by my seat or on the back of my chair (the second time was a rookie move, but I had my jacket over top of it, the place was well lit, and people were facing me, so I thought I was safe!).  Luckily, both times my phone was on the table, so I was able to call and cancel all of my cards immediately.  Also, the second time, I was in London, but I only had an umbrella, a few pounds, paper map (!), my driver’s license and a debit card.  I had left my passport and the rest of my cards in the hotel safe.  Now, I can’t promise your hotel safe IS actually safe, but if you keep items in different locations, the impact will be much less.  This way, I was able to get back to the US safely with no interruption- also, no charges on my card!  Keep copies of license and passport in suitcases and in multiple places.  Pickpockets are professionals– the first time I was the “victim”, I was watching my English friend’s bag on the beach in England while she went to say hi to a friend and I saw them- I saw the people that went into her backpack a foot away from me and didn’t realize it until it was over.  The second time my bag was taken in Arlington, VA right from under my chair.  The third time was in London as I said, but when we went back to see the surveillance tape, someone walks right in front of the camera flutters a menu so you can’t see anything.  I cannot stress enough that pickpockets look like anyone else- and operate everywhere, not just in Europe.  So, please, please, keep an eye on your stuff and frankly, the best way to prevent a pickpocket from ruining your vacation is to only carry things with you that you don’t care get stolen (and/or can live without).  If you are traveling with a friend, both of you take pictures!   That way, if one camera or phone goes missing, at least you have some memories preserved.   I love, love traveling, but it is important to be prepared so that jerks don’t ruin a dream vacation.

As a tip, remember that pickpockets target where the tourists are (not necessarily the tourists themselves), so it should be no surprise that the pub in London was the The Maple Leaf, a Canadian bar where I had gone to watch American Football- they knew there would be innocent American tourists there.

If you have comments or tips on this topic, please share below!

One comment on “Travel Tips- Pickpockets

  1. Dan
    October 6, 2015

    Great advice about pickpockets and an important warning to fellow travelers. I recently wrote a post with 7 tips for avoiding pickpockets. 🙂 http://blog.gate18passports.com/2015/10/avoiding-pickpockets-7-savvy-travel.html

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2014 by in Uncategorized.